

## History of the city

The Val d'Oise includes significant forested areas, cheerful valleys: those of the Seine, the Oise, the Viosne, the Sausseron, and very fertile plains.

L'Isle-Adam is at the heart of Val d'Oise. 32 km from Paris, at the crossroads of the "Pays de France," the "Vexin Français," and the "Valois," the first jewels of the Crown of France, that of the Capetians and the Valois.

Its oldest root, in the soil of France, is the district of Nogent: a Gallic village that, under Roman occupation, became "Novigentum" and which Christianity entrusted to the monks of the Abbey of Saint-Denis.

Then came the Normans, who ascended the rivers on their drakkars to pillage the villages. The King of France then had castles built, such as the one erected in 825 on the large island in the middle of the Oise opposite Nogent.

Destroyed then rebuilt, this castle was entrusted in 1014 by Robert the Pious to Lord Adam, founder of the first family of the Châtellenie of L'Isle-Adam.

Like Adam I, his descendants added "de L'Isle" to their name.

It was Ansel III who, becoming lord of L'Isle in 1219, began to take the surname L'Isle-Adam in 1226. The island itself was then called: L'Isle-Adam.

The agglomeration forming on the left bank of the Oise, opposite this island, gradually became the village and then the town of L'Isle-Adam.

## A Bourgeois Town of the 19th Century

The village extends over the left bank of the Oise to form the ancient core.

Large properties are built along the grand hunting paths connecting the island to the forest.

In the 19th century, these castles and houses were gradually destroyed to make way for more modest constructions along these same paths.

• Then urbanization moved away from the central core and the plot size reduced, the commune developed into neighborhoods in the form of individual housing of the pavilion type.

Infos pratiques

html

## Mayors, from the Revolution to the Present Day

- Jean-Augustin DESCHAMPS > 1787 1791
- Jean-Antoine LEROUX > 1791 1792
- Guillaume BOUGAULT > 1793 1794
- René-Philippe LABOUGLISSE > 1794
- Joseph-Noël TURPIN > 1794 1799
- Gabriel Léger HADANCOURT > 1800 1801
- Joseph-Noël TURPIN > 1801 1813
- Louis-Philippe VILLERS-LA-FAYE > 1813 1815
- Pierre-Nicolas TOPINARD > 1815 1816
- Louis-Philippe VILLERS-LA-FAYE > 1816 1821
- Michel-François BLIND > 1821 1826
- Pierre-Nicolas TOPINARD > 1826 1834
- Pierre-Charles DAMBRY > 1834 1848
- TALBOT from 23/3 to 16/8 > 1848
- Pierre-Charles DAMBRY > 1848 1869
- Félix THOUREAU > 1869 1878
- Charles BINDER > 1878 1892
- Ernest PERNET > 1892 1895
- Ernest RENET-TENER > 1895 1896
- Edmond-Just DESFOSSES > 1896 1898
- Eugène Victor Pascal LAINE > 1898 1908
- Louis-Auguste GIROLLE > 1908 1925
- Charles FRITZ > 1925 1928
- Alexandre-Célestin OLIVIER > 1928 1935
- Louis SENLECQ > 1935 1941
- Marcel RIANT > 1941 1944
- Georges BERNIER > 1944 1951

- Paul AIZIER > 1951 1953
- Gaston AIZIER > 1953 1965
- Louis HURTEAU > 1965 1971
- Michel PONIATOWSKI > 1971 1999
- Axel PONIATOWSKI > 1999 2017
- Sébastien PONIATOWSKI > 2017